3ds Max Workstation (including Render with Corona)

Hey everyone,

first of all, I'm not a professional in this field, I am looking to surprise my girlfriend with a new PC so please excuse my ignorance of some of the terminology.

She works at an ArchViz company and uses 3ds Max and the engine Corona for rendering at work. She does staging and full renders, but from what I know it's mostly interior design visualization (again, I'm sorry if I'm off with my terminology).

I love her work and I know she has been looking to pick up some freelance work if she could, but her PC at home is really old and mine isn't any better, so presumably she won't be able to work on it at all.

With my i5 2600k I just assume it will not be enough to work with (comfortably, if at all). Plus please keep in mind she will have to use this PC for rendering as well.

That's my motivation for building a new PC.

for the CPU, I am considering the AMD Ryzen 9 3900x. I checked out a few benchmarks and I feel like this is a good compromise between performance and price. But if you think that the performance just will not be enough then I'd rather spend a bit more here and get a 3950x (or maybe a threadripper?) than spending less on it and then the whole thing turns out useless. What kind of a cooler would be good here? I'd rather not deal with liquid cooling as I just don't feel comfortable with setting it up myself. I doubt I will do any overclocking on this, but I'm not sure if the stock cooler will be enough to make it run cool enough under load and prevent thermal throttling.

The mainboard I am not sure at all what to go with. Will she need the faster PCIe 4.0 stuff for super fast nvme SSDs on the x570? Or would one of the the 2x 1TB SATA SSDs I currently have (Samsung 860 EVO) alongside a 4TB HDD be enough or should it all be SSDs? How does it affect her work? If she doesn't need the faster PCIe 4.0 then is a b450 mainboard enough? Or how about I just get a cheaper x570 for about 250€?