How long time do you get?

Karin Skaug

I've been a member here since 2012, but haven't contributed that much. I have been working full time with visualizations for 15 years now, but I still experience the imposter syndrome and get overwhelmed by all the talent people show.

The background for my question is this: I started out at roughly the same time as MIR. I used to think I was able to make the same sort of images they could, if I only got the right client. The years went by, and I got the right client. I made some twilight renders with fog and everything and found out I was far from anything remotely MIR-ish. But as for most of us (I guess), the fancy competition renders are not what makes the bulk of the work, so I have continued working full time as a visualization artist/technician, only with lesser self esteem. I guess I can call my work mid-range quality. Not fancy, but always as correct as possible with regards to context, views and lighting conditions. In my early years, competition wasn't really an issue, but now it is. I work in-house at an architectural firm, but the illustration work is most of the time contracted as a separate job. I happen to live in a very expensive and cold country, so globalization does not favor me. To exaggegrate that, I live/work in a part of the country where housing is (relatively) cheap, so the developers have very tight margins.
All this result in me having to deliver stills in two days. That's what the clients in this area are willing to pay for. My question to you is, how long time do you use to produce a mid-range quality still image? (Not fancy, but always as correct as possible with regards to context, views and lighting conditions.)