Additional workstation for rendering?

I have my own (very small) business and have generally been fine with using my own workstation for rendering but lately have been getting backed up with one client in particular. He'd like to see about helping me invest in some sort of render farm for myself. I'm thinking that just another workstation might do the trick but not going to lie..I'm clueless if that's the way that I should approach this. If so, what would anyone recommend for that? I'd appreciate any help as I'm not technically savvy when it comes to this stuff.

Thanks!

Hi, 

Could you share a bit more information? As, what's your current build, the programs you use in your workflow and for rendering in particular, and of course, how much are you willing to spend on this render node. A render node for cpu rendering is completely different in philosophy than a gpu rendering machine. 

Investing in a render node is generally a good idea, but is also depends on some factors like how tight are your deadlines, how often you render (previews and final renders), if you render animations too etc. In some cases rendering your work via a render cloud would be more rational, but a local render node is often needed for delivering simple previews of the final render while you continue to work on the scene, and of course final renders without strict deadlines pushing you. 

Hi Nikolaos,