MentalRay help

mohamedberry

hey guys, i'm still trying to improve my renderings, have read many about MR in many forums, still cant get the result i want...

i think i need to know what each button & value represents (and that doesnt mean i need numbers, just what it do and how) in MR rollout, like how to set the perfect photons numb. & when to proceed to final gathering, and how to get sharp shadows using raytraced shadows & MR indirect illumination, and how to increase my object's colore bleed, and how to use more than one light in the scene with out having a burned areas, and when using FG sometimes i get strange shadows at the intersecting areas of two objects and other times i get light leakage (what causes that although i'm sure the model is well closed) !!!

here is my settings (i use generic units& international light units), tell my if there is something to do

I've been using Mental Ray for about 6 months now and I find it incredibly difficult to get a really good internal image in Mental Ray, I don't have any problems with external views.

In-fact I hate to say it but after six months I am pretty close to giving up with mental Ray at least for internal views. The way I understood it was that you didn't need to mess with the sizes of the photons for GI and FG because MR automatically picked the best sizes. But I could be wrong!

Hi guys

I´ve been introducing a new Viz 2005 and mental ray class at the School of Architecture in Copenhagen...

In my experience mr is quite complex but once you get a good workflow it is very fast and understandable. I will make a little resume of what I consider an appropriate method when rendering with Mental Ray - Anyone with different approaches are welcome to pitch in. I am sitting at an old Compaq Armade E500 and I have no image references here but I´ll put them in when I have acces to them before the end of the week.

First of all - Use Area Lights!