Help me improve my work

Bruna Gauterio

Hey guys

I've been working with 3d for a little over 10 years, I'm a little sad with my work, despite having taken several courses I still feel that I don't have a pleasant job. I'm thinking about buying the Creative Light course because I think it's something different in the course market...

Here is my portfolio: https://www.behance.net/bruna-gaut7aa9

I wouldn't necessarily be too down on yourself, your work is quite good. Where I think you can find improvement is more on camera composition. One thing that stood out on your work, is your camera views are very similar. Understandably in rendering architecture, there are generally limited camera options but I do feel you can really explore this aspect of your work.

There is also a lot of great resources on Artstation Learning, which is also a free resource for everyone.

• Like 2

Echoing VelvetElvis' words, I feel you're in a pretty strong place, and it's hard to pick fault with your images. Maybe if you're feeling a bit uninspired start playing around with fog/atmospherics/different weather conditions. To do this in 3D is tough on your computer (but fun) but a Z-depth, some clouds from photobash and some noise in post can go a long way.

Do you your post in 8 bit, 16bit or 32bit mode in photoshop? Using 32bit back-to-beauty approach got me excited for a while, allowing you to comp in photos to reflections/refractions correctly and giving a greater control over materials in post, although it has its draw-backs. A similar thing can be done in Corona or Vray frame buffer I believe. Also it's a bit emperor's new clothes but ACES colour-managed workflow might get you pleasing results if your renderer can do it.

I feel like some of the images would benefit from having more people and stories about their interactions with the architecture, although that's not the case for every image, sometimes a building just looks best on its own.

• Like 1

Hey Bruna,