Internships..

Tsukiyono

Now before i lose anyone, i am as of now NOT looking for an Internship, what i am looking for more precisly is where i can find a page that links to a bunch of companies home pages... i know that AIA(of a givin city) has comapny names, but i am not sure if it will link to there home pages or not.

Right now all i really want to do is ask questions, and also get an idea of what is out there in specific cities. See whats on the homepages to see their products and all. I would like to get an internship at some time, but i am just beginning now into architecture programs in general.

I have a year and a half left of the degree i am in now, which has nothing to do with architecture at the moment. But i plan on taking some classes at my school on the side also, to get a little boost of sorts in learning the programs and theory behind it all. Its looking more and more like architecture is where i want to go.

So if someone could help me out.. offer advice or anything would be appreciated. thanks.

I don't know of any other place where you could get information on architecture firms other than the AIA web site. Not all of them are going to have web sites, but you’re probably going to want to call each firm and talk to someone there anyway. The best way to find out if the offer internships is to ask them directly.

You didn't say what you are studying now.

One idea I had was to suggest you try to get a job at an architectural firm--not as an architect or vis person, just any job. They hire receptionists, IT people, secretaries, typists, etc. A big firm uses people of a variety of skills and education levels.

Working in a firm like that would give you exposure to 'the life' and connections to people who could help you in getting started in architecture, if that's what you want to do.

Good luck!