100% Real

Devin Johnston

I have been working on this particular project for about 2 years now; it's in the early stages of construction at this point. We have literally done hundreds of renderings of this building for this client showing everything from different materials to how it would look with different landscaping surrounding it. This project is a 40 story medical tower that will be in the medical center and it will be the tallest building in that area. I have a rather unique problem that I've never faced before and it's come about I think because of the flexibility we've shown concerning all the different ways we can render a single building. This client wants us to render a 100% real image of a part of the building, which they will be using to determine what type of glazing system they want to put on it. I've been doing this for about 5 years and I've never been asked to do something like this. The only program I know of that is able to do something even remotely close to what I've been asked to do is Lightscape, but I have my doubts that it would be able to handle this task. I've told my client that a rendering just a representation of what the building would be, and no one should take these images a literal. However the board on which my client sits is adamant that they want to see exactly what it's going to look like at night. I guess my questions are is this possible and what techniques or software would be best to accomplish this? My first thought was that the new Maxwell rendered would be a good program for this task but I have doubts about the speed and over all capabilities of a brand new piece of software like that. Can anyone give me some guidance?

You were right to advise them that 'its just art'. We are all used to seeing photos of buildings at night--just art, not real, not like it will appear to the human eye.