A mixture of programs.

sampowell

This is my first attempt at a professional rendering. The client wants to see how a new building will look next to the existing. They both are very similar.

I modeled the new building (on the right) in AutoCad and established the control points for the existing building. Then I photographed the existing building (on the left) and built a model in Photomodeler, using the control points for orientation and scale. Also, I created some textures from the existing building for the new in Photomodeler. Then I imported both models into 3D Studio Max. I added the background, etc. and settled on a camera position. The file is rather large now, so I created another file just for the cars. Finally, I saved two bitmap files and brought them into Adobe Photoshop Elements. Then I added the people and text (not shown).

I know it must look rough, but next time it will go faster and I can spend more time on improvements.

I would be glad to have your comments in that respect.

Sam

This looks like a fairly typical beginner rendering. That's not an isult at all just an observation. If you are looking for honest crit on your work, you've come to the right place. My own work has improved by leaps and bounds since becoming invloved at CGA.

The main crit is the lack of interesting entourage. Its a little hard to tell at this scale but the building looks ok. I've found that lately I spend nearly as much time working on the surroundings of a rendering as I do on the architecture itself. The best thing to do is look at some of the stuff you see here and find what you like most, then try to replicate the look. Eventually you will discover your own style.

Lighting: It looks like you've used standard lighting in max which isn't necessarily bad but you need to at least make an attempt to fake Global Illumination. Try searching the forums hear for how to do that.