which renderer to choose?

mesht

i've been using max's default scanline renderer since i first started learning max. guess u could say i'm backward in technology achievements :)

eversince with the availability of IES files, my scenes all along have been rendered scanline with Radiosity. produced acceptable results but still far from superb quality

now, i decided to migrate to GI rendering and since i'm new to GI, i've heard of the debates between 3rd party renderer like Finalrender, Brazil, Vray, and Maxwell. so, i don't know which one to start off with. all produce exceptional quality, but also have it pros and cons.

and, how do i convince my office to get a few copies?

mostly still interior images....and some exterior. in my office, clients expectation is high, so our guys try their best to use whatever they have, rendering with mental ray.

as for me, i deicided to try GI both for personal and office.

I would recommend going with something that you can get relatively good results from with the least amount of effort. In this case I would say Vray is you best bet, I'd stay away from Final Render it's just to slow and has too many bugs with little support. Vray seems to be fast and it has some advantages like MTD which can produce some very nice looking grass.

I would download Vray free, I think alot of people beleive that because its free, that its useless, but that couldn't be further from the truth, I use it all the time,

its missing some of the bells and whistles of the advanced version, but its far better than the scanline, and much easier than MR...

If you end up liking it, then buy the advanced version...

thx guys for the tips. i have seen a lot of people using VRay, but i was also looking at Maxwell, seems to deliver equally good quality images. i guess it all boils down on a user preferrences.

Vray and Maxwell are within my budget, but Brazil and Pure1800 is a bit too much.