Need help with realism and saturation

randymcbrayer

1380813414.jpg

Studio/Institution: Undisclosed Famous Pizza Chain
Genre: Commercial Interior
Software: 3ds Max 2014 w/ Mental Ray
Description:

I've recently taken on a role doing many more renderings than I used to and now I'm able to really focus on improving on my quality. However, with so many options I'm not sure where to start. My renderings are coming out too saturated and just don't look realistic. I have an entire model of the building built for other purposes and have glass windows which allow exterior light in the scene. I have a skylight with an HDRI map, am using a target spot for higher intensity sun and photometric light on the interior. Most materials I have used are Arch&Design (mental ray renders). Any suggestions? I'm an architect by trade and am basically self taught in max so please don't be shy in your responses as all feedback will help me grow. Thanks!!

It's a nicely made 3D scene, maybe you should look at how these type Pizza Chains are photographed in the real world and try to mimic it. Just as a thought maybe you could increase the strength of the HDRI light source and decrease the interior lights as it looks like a night shot.

Thank you both for the advice! I went online and did some searching for better lighting setups than what I was using and came across this:

http://www.ronenbekerman.com/louis-kahns-esherick-house-3d/

I tried the setup but the render time ended up being about 6.5 hrs. I went back in and reduced the glossy samples, reduces the GI photos and samples min / max, took ambient occlusion off the materials as well as displacement maps. This brought the render time down to 2 hrs at 2700ppix1400ppi. Still, much too long for the amount of shots I need to get. Any further help or tips would be great. The image attached does have an AO pass applied in photoshop. I also darkened the floor and added beer bottles.

Lighting Fixed.jpg