xEndlessxUrbiax

I am pretty new to making animations in 3dsMax, I've done some minor experimenting but would now like to take it to the next level. I rendered out a test 116 images (as jpgs for the purposes of learning the process) and have taken them into the RAM player.

I am confused as to which codec or compressor to use, which file type is better to use... When I go to save as .avi, my list of compressors is as follows: "DV Video Encoder", "MJPEG Compressor", and "Uncompressed". I've seen turorials online that have other options but I do not see them on my list. I saw that I could also save as a .mov but when I tried this, I got an error.

In the "Time Configuration" settings, what are the best options to use for Frame Rate and Time Display? I am planning on doing a walkthrough of a building with not many moving parts besides people walking, the sun rotating, and maybe some doors opening or something. Should I have different settings for test animations than for my final animation in the "Time Configuration" settings? I understand the time and the frame rates pretty well.

I guess my main question is what are the best methods of saving and setting up the frame rates for test animations vs. final animations.

Always save as frames (w alpha).

Go for a lossless format --> tga (32 bit = +alpha)

I would use another program to compile the frames. AE is the weapon of choice and we always export to MOVs.

Codec wise = H264 , 25 fps for the final playable version. There are some posts which i detail our export settings. Have a quick search around