Looking for Organization Suggestions / Help

AgentPatrick

Hey All,

First of all Thank you to everyone out there who responds to these posts. As a self-taught-still figuring some stuff out-sometimes want to punch my computer-user of 3dsMax and VRay I absolutely rely on these forums to get the answers I need.

Ok so I would like some suggestions on effective file / organization techniques. Up until the last 6 months I have used 3dsMax and VRay on my personal computer and had a very effective system (at least for me it was) of each project containing the standard Max subfolders which would contain the information needed for the project. (you know archives, autoback, downloads, etc etc etc). The only one of those folders that was not project specific was ...sceneassets\images as I had one Master Library for all my Textures/Materials/Bitmaps etc. which was then configured through user paths to the individual model. (Is this a "normal' way of doing it?)

Well....now that I have been tasked with bringing Max and its capabilities to the Firm I work for I am trying to figure out the best way to have one place where everyones models/textures/everything is organzied. Also it needs to be on the Network so all have access.

Here's my Questions(s):

1. Should each project contain the subfolders as listed above, or should i have one set of subfolders which contains all of the projects and encompassing information within its folders?

2. To configure user paths all linked back to one master library would I need one path for each type of material (like a path to brick, a path to wood...) or will the user paths dig down through the folders and sub-folders for me?

Ok, I'm sorry if this is crazy rambling, it's difficult to discuss what I think is an issue when I am new enough that I don't have all of the technology down. ALL ANSWERS AND SUGGESTIONS WELCOME!!!

Thank you,

AgentPatrick