Rigged Character Manipulation

xEndlessxUrbiax

I am a complete noob when it comes to manipulating rigged characters in 3dsMax.

I downloaded the "Tetravol People Pack 1" from TurboSquid but the people come in the standard "T" pose. I have my modifier up and I've tried messing around with the "Physique" modifier which includes submodifiers for "Envelope", "Link", "Bulge", "Tendons", and "Vertex". There is also an editable poly below that. I can't get any of the joints to move or much else to happen.

Can anyone point me to the right tutorial or give me a basic rundown of where i should start?

For what I just read on turbosquid's description, the models are rigged already, so all what you need to do is select the main node from the dummy, (middle center waist) and load a Bip animation, then the model should adopt the position of your animation.

What you need to do first is, create a simple cube dummy, and link your model to that dummy, because after you assign the animation to your character there is no way to re position it, so if you link it to a dummy you'll be able to drag around that dummy where you need your character to be.

3Ds Max has good documentation regarding this and skinning, just patiently follow those tutorials.

But again your model should be ready to walk, pond intended :p.

I'm not sure I understand fully what that means. I've been looking at tutorials all day and it's not quite the same situation as what I'm dealing with. The character i have is already rigged (as it says in the description). I don't need to skin anything, or have it walk or any of that. I just want to move the nodes around that make up his "joints" so that I can change his position. It doesn't seem like I should have to create any dummies to get this to work.