Help with Final Render

Diver

Hi, Just got Final Render today. I got the Stage 0 version first to give it a shot. I have NOT been able to create any solid result with GI. I just made a box with a sphere in it and one omni light. I just wanted to get SOME result before I tried to apply it to a real model. I applied FR materials, BUT the shadow is solid black and it appears I am not gettin any reflected light. PLEASE HELP.

This should be simple.. or if you guys know where a tutorial might be?

Diver,

Welcome to the Final Render club, first let me say that you have picked a very good renderer and just stick with it. One thing about Final Render is it has a very high learning curve; it has taken me about 3 months of continuous experimentation to figure out the program. I'm not an expert by any means but I have a basic understanding of how most of the program functions. Unfortunately there are very few tutorials that deal with Final Render and how to get good results out of it. I don't have stage 0, I've got stage 1 so right off the bat your going to be at a disadvantage since you can't take advantage of any of the new updates. I've posted all of the tutorial links that I have for Final Render, unfortunately most of them deal with HDRI lighting, but it's better than nothing. You should have gotten some video tutorials and scene files with your copy of Final Render; I would watch them and read through the manual.

As for your test scene, do you have GI turned on, and what are your settings?

http://www.3dluvr.com/content/article/85

http://www.deathfall.com/article.php?sid=314

http://www.freelance3d.de/finalframe.htm