Handing over Photoshop and/or 3D files to clients.....

kenzimmerman

So I've been doing architectural visualization for about 15 years now, and my clients almost never ask me for the photoshop or 3d files. But for some reason, this year a few clients have asked me for either the photoshop file or the 3ds max file at the end of the process. Just for the record, I'm staunchly against the practice of giving these files to clients. I don't think it works as a business model. But at the same time, I don't want to annoy any clients.

Also, I'm wondering if other visualization artist have started giving their clients psd and model files, and that's why new clients are expecting this from me??

I was wondering if anyone has this same issue? and what your solution was?

Ken

Edited by kenzimmerman

I don't do that many jobs, but it hasn't happened to me. I too would not want to do it. Why do they want the files? I can't see any reason other than "so we can do something without paying you for the next use". Further, you worked hard and the deliverable (i.e. current state of the PSD) represents your best work, represents you. If some schmuck gets the PSD, next thing you know they "improve" it but it still has your name on it. "Wow, who did your latest flier? Looks like garbage." "Oh, that was Ken. Yeah, he sucks."

I've asked for them before from a third party (and gotten them) but it was for a very practical reason which was to be able to make last minute changes on a tight deadline; didn't have time to keep going back and forth.

I can see, though, someone unscrupulous just moving the camera around and getting a couple of more free renders or using it as a valuable design aid tool.

Edited by heni30