Newbie need some advice on workflow for Architectural Design.

matsjonasson

I’m pretty new to the world of 3D and Architectural design and would be very happy if someone could guide me in the right direction before I start learning all the applications. I need a workflow.

I will start working AND learning in the Autodesk applications as I have access to them on the computers at school. My goal is to learn architectural design just for fun to begin with. Design my apartment with all the stuff in it, for example. I don’t mind if it take me a lot of work and time to get where I want as long as I get there and get started in the smartest way.

So here we go. Say that I want to design my apartment with everything in it. I want to make it accurate from the beginning with all the measurement 100% correct. Maybe in the future I’ll want to try out a new livingroom design in my “virtual” apartment before I go shopping. Where do I start?

What’s the best way for making floorplans, designing the raw interiors and so on? Say that I want to design the kitchen table with the correct dimension and angles. Should I start in Autocad to draw everything and then export it to 3Ds Max for the final touch and so on? Maybe Revit is better then Autocad?

It’s hard for me to explain my thoughts exact the way I’m thinking them but if you go with my example of designing my apartment as my project to learn about Architectural design. What would be the best way to go for me if I want to do it the way the pros doing it?

You don’t have to write the bible of architectural design, just show me the path ;)

Thanks you!

Well, thank you for the answer but I wanted to have some advice on the workflow. Of course I know that I have to do it, look at some tutorials and stuff like that to learn. I want to know from the experts in what way to start, not just that I have to learn it..

I'm trying to learn right now but the answer you gave me didn't learn me anything new, sorry.